There’s Just Something About 80’s Music….

The Cure     The Smiths

Morrissey, The Smiths, The Cure, The Police and U2 are only some of the most influential and acclaimed bands of the 1980s.  Each of their sounds aresimilar, yet distinctive.  Bands like these not only create music, they create movements and anthems.  Singers pour their hearts out as they cry from the top of their lungs about love, pain, heartache and more.  These feelings still power the lyrics bands create today.  However, bands today are not as successful at achieving the style and sound of 80’s bands.  Bands like The Smiths and The Cure embrace electronic textures and disco rhythms, and craft ringing, melodic three-minute pop singles.

Music created today doesn’t have that sound.  Thanks to auto-tone and other computer software, almost anyone can create a song.  I for one HATE mainstream music.  I will admit, whilst in the company of friends, I play it, but I never listen to it on my own.  It all sounds the same to me.  Also, don’t even get me started on country music, I can’t stand it.  I try not to be arrogant about my taste of music, because I understand that all of our musical tastes are different.  I’m merely expressing my opinion :).

Before this turns into a rant, I put together a playlist of some of my personal favorites:

1.  You Have Killed Me – Morrissey

2.  Love Song – The Cure

3.  How Soon Is Now – The Smiths

4.  With Or Without You – U2

5.  Just Like Heaven – The Cure

6.  One Thing Leads To Another – The Fixx

7.  Ask – The Smiths

8.  Ceremony – New Order

9.  Fade Into You – Mazzy Star

10.  Blue Light – Mazzy Star

11.  Every Breath You Take – The Police

2 comments

  1. The 80’s is just full of great sounding music throughout all genres. So many one hit wonders, great movies, great style, great music…gosh sometimes I wish I had a time machine!

    1. Agreed! So many great bands today are inspired by the 80’s genre of music….such as The Strokes new album Countdown Machine! Julian Casablancas has always expressed nods to the 80s new wave. I’m working on another post as soon as I’m done listening to each track :).

Leave a Reply

