After a 5 Month Hiatus I’m back to Blogging…

Hello folks!

For those of you who take time out of your day to read this, I appreciate it. As you may know, from now until May 9th I will being finishing up my finals months as a college student. It’s been nearly 5 years of life-changing experiences, laughs, new friendships, stress, all-nighters, and many, many memories.

Before I become caught up in writing my goodbyes and spreading my thanks to the many people who’ve mad these years worthwhile, I thought I’d share some words that inspired me today. Currently, I’m searching for an internship, job, or anything similar to kick off my career. I’m graduating with a degree in advertising, minors in art and marketing and several graphic design electives. Writing is my passion, and along with that I enjoy collaborating with like-minded individuals to create, problem solve and explore new possibilities for brands, businesses and clients.

I’ve applied for internships in Sioux Falls, Minneapolis and Chicago. And so far, I haven’t had many leads. I’ve had interviews, yes, and even competed as a finalist for a copywriter internship position at a renown and well-known advertising agency. From these experiences, I know I’m really honing in on something….SOMETHING. I can feel it.

Anyways, here’s what I read today that caught my eye and sparked my interest. Anna Quindlen, Pulitzer-Prize-winning author, journalist, and New York Times op-ed columnist, once wrote:

“You cannot be really first-rate at your work if your work is all you are. So I suppose the best piece of advice I could give anyone is pretty simple: get a life. A real life, not a manic pursuit of the next promotion, the bigger paycheck, the larger house. Do you think you’d care so very much about those things if you developed an aneurysm one afternoon, or found a lump in your breast while in the shower?

Turn off your cell phone. Turn off your regular phone, for that matter. Keep still. Be present. Get a life in which you are not alone. Find people you love, and who love you. And remember that love is not leisure, it is work. All of us want to do well. But if we do not do good, too, then doing well will never be enough.”

Leave a Reply

