Latest Musical Discovery: Real Estate

Most people tend to know what they like when it comes to their musical preferences.  Some are even very opinionated of musical matters – and I am definitely one of those people.

I’d have to say my true musical taste didn’t thoroughly develop until I reached my freshman year in college. As I look back on that first semester, I remember moments of clarity and realization as I really began to connect with artists like The Strokes, The White Stripes, Dashboard Confessional, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Beck, Pixies, Bloc Party and so, so much more. But this was just the beginning.

As I explored other similar artists such as Dinosaur Jr., The Flaming Lips, Smashing Pumpkins and The Black Keys, my mind went crazy. Why did I spend all those years in high school listening to mindless, mainstream, top-of-the-chart hits?! I never could relate to those songs, I only listened to them because everyone else did.

After I discovered more and more bands through my next couple years in college, I realized this passion would never run dry. I am a stone cold music junkie. What started out as simple curiosity and musical wanderlust has lead to an incessant need to know more artists.

As you might be able to tell, the genres I prefer are alternative, folk, classic rock, and indie. With that, I’ve decided to add my first regular post series. The idea hit me today – on my day off from work and class – and I feel very excited to get started!

So, without further ado, please allow me to introduce you to my latest musical discovery:

REAL ESTATE

Image

Real Estate is an indie rock band hailing from Ridgewood, New Jersey, and currently living in Brooklyn, New York. The first song I heard from this very talented group was Talking Backwards. The melody immediately relaxes you as the lyrics draw you in. What I gathered from the lyrics is that it’s about trying to maintain a long distance friendship or relationship and not always being able to say the right things.

Outside of Talking Backwards, I’ve listened to Fake Blues, Kinder Blumen, and Green River. Real Estate features Martin Courtney, Etienne Duguay, Alex Bleeker and Matthew Mondanile. Before their union, the group had played together in other bands – including a Weezer cover band – during high school but didn’t officially become Real Estate Until Martin returned to the Garden State after attending college in Washington.

Real Estate has a total of three albumss so far, including Suburban Beverage 7″, Days and Atlas. Check this group out!

 

Leave a Reply

